Fourteen things to love about 2014

Well, in with the new and out with the old, as the saying goes.  It is day 2 into the year of 2015.  Time to start afresh, as the they say.  We all have a clean slate, and its time to leave 2014 behind.

Except there were some pretty great things about 2014, lest we forget.  A new year is a great thing, but let’s not forget about the old year…it deserves some love too!

That being said, here is a list of 14 great things about 2014, in no particular order, so we avoid hurt feelings.

 

1)  The Indianapolis Colts

Ah, the Indianapolis Colts.  One moment they are the Island of Misfit Toys (especially on the offensive line) and seem to bumbling their way to a blowout loss.  The next moment they are the terror of the AFC, making a historic comeback to win the 2014 Wildcard game over the KS City Chiefs, after being down 25 points at the half and having something like a 3% chance of winning that game.  But Andrew Luck and the offense seem to say, 25 points, pish posh, now let’s go win the game.  And then they did win that game, in spectacular fashion.  The Colts have provided some entertainment in the regular season as well, putting up some Madden-like numbers in terms of points scored and touchdowns.  Even the defense got a shutout this year.  The Colts were awesome in 2014 and I am sure they will continue to be awesome in 2015.

island of misfit toys

2)  Gotham

Well, duh, Captain Obvious.  Its Batman.  And Batman will always be awesome.  Batman is always awesome.  Even the poorly acted and written Joel Schumacher versions are awesome, although maybe awesomely bad is a better word to describe those films.

But Gotham is actually a good show.  Gotham’s secret is that it is actually not so much about Batman or even the cast of Batman villains as it is about Jim Gordon.  We see what kind of man that Jim Gordon is, before Batman became involved.  We also get a fascinating look at Gotham, as the writers of the show really want to drive home that Gotham is a corrupt place, and always will be, even if they have a caped super hero to somewhat keep things in check.  And seeing young versions of the villains, such as Oswald Cobblepot (who has no redeeming qualities about him whatsoever.  In other words, I love him) and a younger Selina Kyle (aka Catwoman) is actually pretty cool.  And the show is just getting started…I can’t wait to see what 2015 brings for Gotham.

gotham

3)  Andrew Luck

I know, I know.  I already mentioned the Indianapolis Colts above, so this is a bit redundant.  However, Andrew Luck really does deserve special mention for the year he had in 2014.  He started off the year leading the Colts to victory in a playoff game after being down 25 points at the half.  The Colts were then bounced out of the divisional game by New England, but Luck came back to have a spectacular 2014, putting up stellar numbers and breaking all kinds of records.  2014 would have been a miserable season without the likes of Luck for the Colts.

Plus, there is Luck’s particular brand of trash talking, that has convinced some that he may be a closet Canadian.  But, closet Canadian or not, Andrew Luck and the Colts are destined for an awesome 2015 and beyond.

Oakland Raiders v Indianapolis Colts

4)  My marriage

Yes, I did not get married in 2014.  In fact, I celebrated my sixth wedding anniversary in 2014.  So why is this worth a mention?

Well, you are darn right its worth a mention!  Somehow, I have managed to find imprison an unsuspecting man someone who is willing to put up with my craziness.  Someone who can stand to be around me and actually likes being me.  Someone who thinks red headed female nerds with a temper are hot!  And no, he’s not medicated!  Not an escapee from a mental institution!  And funny.  And shares my love of all things Batman.  And he’s kind to old ladies when they are crossing the street…yeah, I could go on and on.

My husband has continued to show why I chose to spend the rest of my life with him throughout our 2014.  I am looking forward to a great 2015 (and beyond) with this awesome man!

garfield

5)  Duncan

So we did the unthinkable this year.  We brought home yet another critter to add to our two cat, two dog brood.  This creature is an Australian cattle dog puppy by the name of Duncan Edward McLaughlin but we just call him Duncan (that is, when he is good.  We will not talk about the other names).  Duncan was name after Man at Arms in the He Man cartoons from way back when.  Some may also reference the move Highlander of “there can be only one” fame.  Although I think an appropriate tagline is “thank god there is only one.”  Hey, don’t judge me until you have walked a mile in my shoes that have been chewed on by an overly ambitious puppy.  But at least he’s cute, as the common refrain goes.

As a bonus, Duncan has a blog!  See, I told you blue heelers were smart…dumb dogs can’t type, silly!  Go check out his blog, he loves clicks as much as the next doggy blogger!

Duncan

6)  Arrow

Yes, I know.  I am late to the party, as Arrow has been out for three seasons.  But since I discovered it in 2014 so I get to include it on this list.

I stayed up watching this show until 3 AM a few weeks ago.  And let me tell you, it was a worthy binge watch, and I am itching to do some more binge watching.  The story line is compelling, and the acting is pretty good.  Each episode had me wanting more so that I stayed up later than any sane person should.  2015 will likely bring much more intrigue, especially when I catch up to season and am no longer late for the party.

arrow

7)  Stephen King

Ha, if you thought you would get this far in this post on this site without something about Stephen King…well, sorry about your damn luck!

But, in all serious, we were lucky enough to see two separate books this year from the master.  Mr. Mercedes was published in June and Revival was published in November.  Both were great books, but Revival in particular is one that will stick with me for a long, long time.  I constantly thought of HP Lovecraft and his monsters while reading it.  I also loved the homage it played to Frankenstein.  And then there was the ending…its been a long time since I actually shivered when I put the book down and tossed and turned for such a long time.

So get to it, Mr. King!  We are expecting more awesomeness in 2015!

OSF1-00001107-001

8)  True Detective

Someone thought that it would be a good idea to get together Woody from Cheers and the creepy older dude of Dazed and Confused of “alright, alright” fame and have them do a TV shows.  And that same someone hit upon the idea of these two being cops trying to solve a series of gruesome murders which involved women and children.  Add in the complicated personal lives of these two characters, and we have True Detective.

The only bad thing I can say about True Detective is that it did not win enough awards…damn you, Breaking Bad and your series finale!  This was another binge watch, although not in nearly epic proportions as number 6.  The true (see what I did there) strength of this show, however, was its writing, even though the directing and acting were no slouch.  This is another show to watch in 2015, as season two will be taking a completely different, unrelated to the first season direction.

true detective

9)  The Dark Tower

If Andrew Luck gets his own post for 2014, then the Dark Tower series certainly deserves its own post.  The reason why (in all seriousness) The Dark Tower series is getting its own post is due to the great material Marvel keeps producing for the comic books.  This year we saw the release The Prisoner series aka biographical material on my main man, Eddie Dean.  Although not written by King himself, these comics are the next best thing.  They also offered a fascinating insight into the early life of Eddie Dean and provided a few more Easter eggs related to the King universe.

Who knows, maybe 2015 will be the year we finally get confirmation of a Dark Tower movie?  We can only hope.

dark tower

10)  Igloo

No, I did not add Igloo (my white Spitz mix) to the family in 2014.  Try 2000.  That’s right, she was born in 2000 so she is approximately 97 dog years or something like that.  She is an old gal, and I am thankful to have her around in 2014 and beyond.  Hopefully, I can be saying the same thing in 2015.

critters 1 007

11)  Constantine

#saveconstantine

Yeah, NBC…you better save Constantine!  Because if you don’t save Constantine, you are on the same level as someone who kicks puppies and steals candy from babies!  But really, I think this is my favorite show of 2014 not named Gotham.  The supernatural theme, the wonderful acting (especially by the man playing the title character), interesting plot lines and the witty dialogue make it a no-brainer.  I would be very, very sad if NBC did not step and save this show, as it has a lot to offer.

But there are some encouraging signs for the future of this show.  Will Constantine be saved?  Only time (and 2015) will tell.

Constantine - Season Pilot

12) My cooking and baking

Yeah, I am engaging in some shameless self promotion on this post.  But I am proud of all the cooking and baking I have done in 2014!  Although I will not be a contestant on Masterchef anytime soon (nor do I want to be), I am proud of how much I have grown in the kitchen.  I am getting experimental (basil infused homemade whipped cream, anyone?) and getting a good feel for what works and what doesn’t.  Plus I am just having fun…and I hope to continue to have fun in 2015.

strawberry shortcakesuperbowl cakechocolate cake

13)  My artwork

Again, more shameless self promotion.  Feel free to skip if you feel like it.  But again, I am proud of myself in this area…again, I have grown so much.  I have gotten more consistent and more inspired.  I have created more artwork than ever before.  I took up my woodburning again,after the tool had gone unused for too long.  I have even created my original artwork inspired by Stephen King and The Dark Tower series.  And I will not stop in 2015 either!

DT watercolorOywatercolor rose

14)  I started blogging!

I know, me, me and me.  But I have talked about writing for years and never really done anything with it.  Mainly because I have been afraid.  I was always on the fringe as a kid.  On the outside looking in.  The target of bullies.  Or if I was lucky, just invisible.  This is still the case in adulthood.  So I have been afraid to share any of my writing…what if they laugh at me?  What if I get pig’s blood dumped on me? Well, I know that last part won’t actually happen (at least I hope not).  But still, I’m insecure.  So I hold myself back.  Sometimes, I can barely live because I am insecure.

But then I started this blog.  And I don’t think people laughed! Or if they did laugh, it was due to my wit and humor!  I looked at the number of views and the comments on this blog (and via Facebook as well) and I felt like Michael Jordan (although much, much shorter.  And female, to boot)!  Now I just want to blog more.  And more.  I don’t want to stop.  And I even want to let Duncan share the spotlight.  Duncan is right, blogging is way more fun than squeaky toys!  And be prepared for a lot more of it in 2015!

 

Whew, here’s to the 14 awesome things in 2014…I hope no one (or no thing) feels slighted because he/she/it didn’t make it on the list…you are still awesome and I love you!  And here’s to at least 15 more awesome things about 2015…Happy belated New Year everyone!

Happy-New-Year-30

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fourteen things to love about 2014

Leave a Reply

